HSC 2019: Proclamation of Laureates

GIS – 07 Februay, 2020: The Cambridge Higher School Certificate (HSC) 2019 results were proclaimed this morning and the pass rate for the Republic of Mauritius totals to 74.95%. The Prime Minister, Minister of Defence, Home Affairs and External Communications, Minister for Rodrigues, Outer Islands and Territorial Integrity, Mr  Pravind Kumar Jugnauth signed the official documents at the New Treasury Building in Port Louis.
The Vice Prime Minister, Minister of Education, Tertiary Education, Science and Technology, Mrs Leela Devi Dookun Luchoomun proclaimed the names of laureates and commended their achievements. She acknowledged their sacrifices, dedication and hard work as well as the efforts and support of their families and respective academic institution.
The Vice-Prime Minister encouraged the laureates to cultivate the values of courage, hard work and perseverance so as to face the upcoming challenges of the next phase of their academic career. She also conveyed her best wishes to the laureates in their future endeavours.
HSC 2019 Results
A total of 8975 candidates sat for the 2019 HSC examinations that is, 8657 for Mauritius and 318 for Rodrigues. The pass rate for 2019 for the Republic of Mauritius totals to 74.95% as compared to 74.90% in 2018.
The number of laureates by school is as follows: Royal College Port Louis – 9; Queen Elizabeth College – 7; Royal College Curepipe – 6; Dr Maurice Curé State College – 6; Rabindranath Tagore Secondary School – 3; Droopnath Ramphul State College – 2; Mahatma Gandhi Institute Moka– 2; G.M.B Atchia State College – 2; Collège Du Saint Esprit – 2; Loreto College Quatres Bornes – 1;  Modern College – 1; and Rodrigues College – 4.  
Government offers 68 scholarships each year based on the HSC examinations.  A scholarship is also offered by the Mauritius Commercial Bank (MCB) under the MCB Foundation Scholarship. 
Forty-five scholarships are offered purely on the basis of performance and merit.  Twenty-four additional scholarships are allocated on academic, merit and social criteria basis.  The list will be proclaimed after a selection exercise by the Ministry  of Education, Tertiary Education, Science and Technology  and the Ministry of Social Integration, Social Security and National Solidarity. 
Government Information Service, Prime Minister’s Office, Level 6, New Government Centre, Port Louis, Mauritius. Email: gis@govmu.org  Website: http://gis.govmu.org  Mobile App: Search Gov

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *